building brands for creative businesses

REVIEW | the Day Designer by Whitney English

Whitney English Day Designer - review on Pinegate Road

About a month or so ago I reached out to Miss Whitney English about her recent creation: The Day Designer. This quarter, as many of you know, I unexpectedly was moved to all online courses, started working with a couple more freelance clients on top of my regular day job, and was trying to keep up with the growth of the blog and some other surprise personal projects. To say the least, my old organization routine of keeping a teux deux list was just not going to cut it with all of the future planning that I needed to work out on this chaotic schedule. When I heard about a planner that was catered specifically to the creative entrepreneur, I was intrigued. After a little over a month of using The Day Designer, I can definitely let you know that it’s been a game changer in how I work.

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT THE DAY DESIGNER:

• For the first section of the planner, you’re introduced to some unique tools that help you find your personal passions and goals. What?! I’ve always been one to have goals to work towards, but writing these down, and planning your schedule around meeting these goals was something that I had never done before. While I’m still on the journey of meeting my goals, keeping these in mind daily really helps keep them in focus, and you can do little things each day that will add up to meeting that goal in the long run.

• The set up is easy to understand, and you keep your priorities straight by having a month in review throughout the planner to keep those larger goals broken up into manageable aspects.

• There is a large page for each day. This is key! I love having enough space on each day to write notes, and add tasks as they come up. Keeping it all on one page helps you focus on what you need to do for that day, rather than looking at an entire week and feeling overwhelmed.

Whitney English Day Designer - review on Pinegate Road

• It’s aesthetically pleasing. Come on, who doesn’t love hot pink and black and white stripes? The quality of The Day Designer is amazing. You feel like you’re really working with something special.

• It combines a traditional to-do list—that I was already familiar to working with—and combines it with a schedule and priority system. Each day you pick your top three items from your list that you need to complete. This helps make the to-do list less daunting, and helps you feel accomplished when you do get all three of those done for the day. By pairing this system side-by-side next to a schedule, you can see where your daily tasks can fit into your schedule in one day.

• Quotes on each page bring a smile to my day.

Whitney English Day Designer - review on Pinegate Road - GIVEAWAY

So, are you intrigued?  You can get your own day designer HERE. Also, lucky for you Whitney has offered to give one of my lucky readers a Day Designer of their own! The giveaway will be open until next Friday, December 14th, at midnight. I’m using rafflecopter for this giveaway, so follow along below for your chances to win! You can enter multiple times, so head on back throughout the week for more chances. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

  1. Lisa

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:19 PM

    I have been looking for a new 2013 planner and this one seems perfect! :)

  2. rachael

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    i’ve been wanting one of these ever since you got yours! i prefer to write my to-dos down and this planner seems like the perfect place to do so!

  3. Kory

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    Since I started my blog, I’ve been trying to get both it and my school schedule more organized. Recently, I’ve noticed myself tending to forget things because I don’t have anywhere to write them down. This planner would be a PERFECT place for me to keep everything organized!

  4. Adventures in Dressmaking

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:53 PM

    So chic–love the black and white simplicity!

  5. erika

    December 7th, 2012 at 12:58 PM

    i have been wanting to get myself one of these planners for a while now… i think it would be super helpful for my crazy schedule, too! i also know that i do much better when i write something down… for whatever reason, once i write it with pen and paper, it becomes a reality. okay, now i really need this planner!!

  6. Cindy Arnwine

    December 7th, 2012 at 1:11 PM

    I would absolutely LOVE to win this planner!! I have been addicted to planners for as long as I can remember and this planner would make me soooo happy! I’m constantly searching for planners and the reviews and pics I’ve seen only continue to make me desire it even more! Thank you for the chance to win!!!

  7. Lena

    December 7th, 2012 at 1:13 PM

    I have this on my Christmas wish list – I would love to get my hands on one of these! I recently opened an etsy shop along with a website/blog with my mom to showcase our handmade business, Mattie Mae Designs. I would love to win this planner to help me organize my goals and ideas in one place, as so frequently, they are written down onto post-it notes, napkins and other things that I easily use! I have heard so many great things about the Day Designer, and I think it would be the perfect fit for 2013!

  8. Amy

    December 7th, 2012 at 1:42 PM

    As a blogger I’m constantly jotting down ideas on post it notes or in my phone. Having my ideas all over the place can feel overwhelming at times and I would love to have a planner to keep all of my thoughts organized! Especially one as adorable as this one!!!

  9. Britt

    December 7th, 2012 at 2:16 PM

    this looks awesome. Might have to splurge!

  10. Kate

    December 7th, 2012 at 3:22 PM

    I’ve been admiring this planner for a while- it looks amazing! I’d love to get my hands on one!

  11. EM-K

    December 7th, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    This is what my life is missing!!!

  12. Amanda Genther

    December 7th, 2012 at 4:46 PM

    2013 is going to be a big year for me and I NEED this planner. It’s like perfect in every way possible. I already bought a 2013 planner but I had never seen this one before. Really regretting that right about now! I would love to get one of these for the new year!

  13. katie

    December 7th, 2012 at 4:52 PM

    i keep seeing you post about this annnd i’m always obsessed with any kind of planner. going to check it out!

  14. Ashley Brimeyer

    December 7th, 2012 at 8:08 PM

    I’ve been eyeing this planner for awhile now and I’m kind of obsessed. Would totally be great to have.

  15. Allyssa

    December 7th, 2012 at 8:11 PM

    This planner looks amazing! I have big plans for 2013 and having this planner would help me stay organized and on track!

  16. Bethany

    December 7th, 2012 at 11:16 PM

    It looks amazing and love the idea of using this tool to keep my world changing ducks in a cute little row :)

  17. Cara-Mia

    December 8th, 2012 at 1:25 AM

    Wow! This looks like a great planner! And I must say, I’m obsessed with stripes so it is kind of perfect. :)

  18. emily

    December 8th, 2012 at 11:01 AM

    I have been looking for something like this. Would love to win it!!

  19. Krizia

    December 9th, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    Oh gosh, Kelsey! This is another reason for me to be sad that I live in Europe (shipping from Etsy is $50)! Since I can’t send one to myself, I’m thinking of sending one to Kara :) Thanks so much for the thorough review (your handwriting is really cute). I’m crossing my fingers that I win this, haha!

  20. Patti

    December 9th, 2012 at 1:18 PM

    I need a 2013 planner and this one looks so perfect! I love that each day has it’s own page. fingers crossed.

  21. Bailey Jean

    December 9th, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    This is PERFECTION! As a girl on the go, I always have my planner with me but I am looking for a new one to fit all of my ideas and to-do’s. This is not only beautiful but functional and is a must-have for the start of 2013. Whoever wins this is one lucky lady [or gent ;) ]. But I do hope it’s me!

  22. Ciera

    December 10th, 2012 at 2:10 PM

    Looking for a planner to schedule blog posts and this one is SO beautiful!!!

  23. emily // the object enthusiast

    December 10th, 2012 at 6:14 PM

    yep! i love this! i am all about assessing my short term goals, so this planner looks like it was made for me! and you, and everyone else…….. ;)

  24. Arielle

    December 10th, 2012 at 8:09 PM

    I was looking for more details on this planner- so glad I found your post!

  25. Whitney F.

    December 10th, 2012 at 8:38 PM

    I definitely need this! I’m such a journal/planner hoarder. There’s nothing like writing. I am always searching for motivation by making vision boards, calendars and journals. I carry so many notebooks with me. I have two in my purse, one beside my bed, one at my boyfriend’s house and a planner on my phone, and a planner for school…this will solve all of my problems ;-)

  26. Grace B.

    December 11th, 2012 at 10:16 AM

    Wow! I wish I had thought of this. I am very picky about my planners but this one meets all the criteria, especially being spiral-bound.

  27. Jordan Brantley

    December 12th, 2012 at 4:52 PM

    ooo, ooo, ooooo! i’m convinced that this planner was made for me. sure would help me with time management for CLC in 2013! :)

  28. Caiti

    December 12th, 2012 at 10:43 PM

    Yay! I’ve been coveting the Day Designer for WEEKS! I can’t resist those stripes, and I love that there are goal/passion worksheets included! Thanks for the chance to win :)

  29. heather hall

    December 13th, 2012 at 2:45 AM

    I just came across your website, and love it. I am a little obsessed with this planner already, and think it needs to be in life. As a creative minded person being pulled in a hundred directions daily, compulsive organization is vital to my productivity!

  30. Kelsey

    December 14th, 2012 at 4:57 PM

    I completely agree! Thanks for stopping by Heather :)

  31. Kelsey

    December 14th, 2012 at 4:57 PM

    I completely agree! Thanks for stopping by Heather :)

  32. behind the blog / pinegate road - CREATE LIKE CRAZY | CREATE LIKE CRAZY

    March 22nd, 2013 at 7:44 PM

    […] Whitney English for a couple months now, and it has seriously been saving my butt. Here’s a review that I wrote about it and all the reasons why it has helped me so much as a creative. My new years […]

READY TO REACH NEW LEVELS WITH YOUR BUSINESS?

BUILD A BOOMING BRAND TEACHES YOU EXACTLY HOW TO FIND YOUR BRAND’S FOUNDATION, SO YOU CAN GET CRYSTAL CLEAR ON YOUR BUSINESS’ BIG PURPOSE.

LEARN MORE AND ENROLL NOW!

STRATEGY & DESIGN

EDUCATION

PURSUIT

COMMUNITY

                          we’re dedicated to helping our clients create beautiful brands that last, based on strategy, and a lot of love.

                               and fans of personal development, we provide courses that help you grow your business, and love your life.

                                      we believe in doing what YOU can to get the job done, now. At Pinegate, we believe in YOUR power to grow.

                                       we know business ownership and following your dreams can be tough. Join our community of go-getters!

work with pinegate road one-on-one to build your brand

enroll in our courses 
to build your brand
and grow your skills

learn more about our diy strategy-based web templates

join our community:
the creative cohorts

As a design firm,

As life-long learners,

As builders of this business

As cheerleaders of people,

SIGN UP NOW


JOIN THE NEWSLETTER

SENT OUT EVERY TUESDAY, STORIES ABOUT LIFE AND BUSINESS

Click below to join our newsletter, where our Creative Director Kelsey Cronkhite shares her stories and insights into running a creative business. Join us for this and more, every Tuesday morning.

SIGN UP FOR THE PGR NEWSLETTER

Where we’re all about the creative journey. Join host Kelsey Cronkhite every Monday for a new and inspiring episode all about life, creativity, and finding your place along the way.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE PGR PODCAST

©2011-2016 PINEGATE ROAD LLC.

JOIN US ON INSTAGRAM